Home > Uncategorized > Weekend in California Diary – Calipphines

Weekend in California Diary – Calipphines

I knew I was in Calipphines when during my layover in San Diego, home to over a 100,000 of my people, I stopped by Starbucks and the Lola behind the counter hollered to the other Filipino barista, “Hoy, Bictor, isa malaking chai tea latte. Mabilis!” (Hey, Victor, one large chai tea latte and fast!”)

Maria’s Quick Glossary
Calipphines: California Philippines
My People: Definition varies, but as used in this sentence refers to my Filipino people
Lola: Filipina grandmother
Bictor: Filipinos with thick accents can’t pronounce the V sound, it always comes out sounding like a B

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

