Home > Uncategorized > Out of the mouths of grandmas – Weekend in California Diary

Out of the mouths of grandmas – Weekend in California Diary

Our family visited my 86 year old grandmother today, my sweet, sweet, old Lola whose memory understandably fails her from time to time.

The kids walked down the hall to look for her, but she was sitting on the toilet handling her business with the door wide open. When she saw them she asked in a thick Filipino accent and accusatory tone, “Who are you and what are you doing in my house?” 

She eventually made her way out of the bathroom into the kitchen. She kept asking me where I’ve been. I kept telling her Texas and each time she would look at me like I was crazy, forget what we were talking about, then ask me if I wanted some sugar instead.

It’s funny how early in your life and then again late in your life, you don’t make much sense but it still sounds so cute.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

